So, what is required to meet the 2007 Standard?

The 2007 Standard limits the extent of reporting to major defects, providing a general impression regarding the extent of minor defects and any major defect that is an urgent and serious safety hazard.  The standard then advises that the major defect should be;

1. Clearly described (as per Table 3.3 of the Standard)

2. Have a general statement as to any minor defect/s arising from the major defect

3. Have an explanation as to why it is a major defect i.e. what are the consequences of NOT attending to the major defect?

4. Have a referral to a qualified person that can provide a scope and cost of the repairs.

However, quite often the simple identification of a defect alone is not enough. Their correct format of reporting is called the four W’s. By following the four W method, we articulate each and every building defect to our client by not only identifying the defect, but also explaining why it is a defect and the consequences of the defect if it is not attended to. We outline what the defect is, where the defect is located in the house, why it is considered a defect in the first place and exactly what should be done to rectify the defect.

Our Four W Method:

1. What is the defect?

2. Where is the defect located?

3. Why it is a defect?

4. What should you do about it?

Thorough reporting of each and every defect is vital after a building inspection. If you have been presented with the four W’s on a house you are considering you will be best equipped to make an informed decision.

Inspect East Building Inspections produce reports that better satisfy our clients need to find the major defects more easily and therefore better informed to make important decisions.